Fellows of the AACR Academy — 

The success of the AACR's mission to prevent and cure cancer depends upon an appreciation of the past and a vision of the future. It requires an understanding of the critical discoveries that have shaped the current scientific paradigm as well as the wisdom and foresight to shift that paradigm when necessary.

Established in 2013, the AACR Academy recognizes and honors distinguished scientists whose contributions have consistently propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer. While election as a Fellow of the AACR Academy (FAACR) is a great honor for current accomplishments, it is also an opportunity to guide the future of cancer research. Fellows engage with colleagues, lawmakers, and the public to discuss important issues and catalyze progress against cancer.

  • At a ceremony on the evening before the Annual Meeting, the 2015 class of Fellows of the AACR Academy were formally inducted.
  • On June 17, several Fellows of the AACR Academy joined AACR leaders, congressional representatives, and the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy to host a special briefing titled "Saving Lives in the New Era of Precision Medicine." The participants discussed the dynamic potential of precision medicine and called upon Congress to provide robust and sustained increases in funding to the National Institutes of Health and the National Cancer Institute.

Fellows of the AACR Academy — 
Class of 2015

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD, FAACR
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts

Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, FAACR
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, Tennessee

Anton J.M. Berns, PhD, FAACR
Netherlands Cancer Institute
Amsterdam, Netherlands

Bruce A. Chabner, MD, FAACR
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

Ronald A. DePinho, MD, FAACR
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas

Susan D. Desmond-Hellmann, MD, MPH, FAACR
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Seattle, Washington

Robert N. Eisenman, PhD, FAACR
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, Washington

Douglas R. Lowy, MD, FAACR
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, Maryland

Carol L. Prives, PhD, FAACR
Columbia University
New York, New York

Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD, FAACR
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, Maryland

Craig B. Thompson, MD, FAACR
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York

For a complete list of the Fellows of the AACR Academy, click here.

Scientific Achievement Awards — 

Brilliant scientists dedicate their careers to making the discoveries that enable them to understand, prevent, treat, and cure cancer. Through Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships, the AACR fosters innovation and honors exceptional investigators for their contributions.

For example, the AACR Team Science Award was created to recognize the importance of interdisciplinary collaboration to capitalize on the unparalleled opportunities made possible by the sequencing of the human genome, progress in systems biology, and the emergence of computational technologies. In addition to honoring scientific achievement, the AACR also recognizes the importance of champions of cancer research. The AACR Margaret Foti Award celebrates these individuals, whose leadership and sustained commitment to the prevention and cure of cancer have made a major impact on the field.


AACR G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award
Owen N. Witte, MD
University of California
Los Angeles, California

AACR Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Memorial Award
William C. Hahn, MD, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachussets

AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research
Christopher R. Vakoc, MD, PhD
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Cold Spring Harbor, New York

AACR-American Cancer Society Award for Research Excellence in Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention
Mitchell H. Gail, MD, PhD
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, Maryland

AACR Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research
Elizabeth M. Jaffee, MD
Johns Hopkins Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
Baltimore, Maryland

Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research
James P. Allison, PhD, FAACR
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas

AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship
Sara A. Courtneidge, PhD
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, Oregon

AACR-Irving Weinstein Foundation Distinguished Lecture
David Baltimore, PhD
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, California

AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research
Mario R. Capecchi, PhD, FAACR
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

AACR-Minorities in Cancer Research Jane Cooke Wright Memorial Lectureship
Lucile L. Adams-Campbell, PhD
Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
Washington, D.C.

AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research
Donald S. Coffey, PhD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry in Cancer Research
Philip S. Low, PhD
Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana

AACR Princess Takamatsu Memorial Lectureship
Lewis C. Cantley, PhD, FAACR
Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, New York

AACR Team Science Award
AR Inhibitor Team

Charles L. Sawyers, MD, FAACR
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York

Michael E. Jung, PHD
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

Howard I. Scher, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York

AACR Distinguished Lectureship in Breast Cancer Research
Anne-Lise Børreson-Dale, DSc
University of Oslo
Oslo, Norway

AACR Outstanding Investigator Award for Breast Cancer Research, funded by Susan G. KomenTM
Mohamed Bentires-Alj, PharmPhD
Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research
Basel, Switzerland

AACR Distinguished Lecture on the Science of Cancer Health Disparities, funded by Susan G. KomenTM
Electra D. Paskett, PhD
Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio

AACR-CRI Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology
Carl H. June, MD
Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania